Northwest Business Environment Awards 2010

Manchester green heroes triumph at 2010 awards

Manchester businesses have triumphed at the 2010 Awards ceremony, scooping four of the main awards.

Diodes Zetex Semiconductors Ltd in Oldham took the Best Environmental Practice Award in the 'large company' category. The electronics manufacturer has halved its carbon footprint and significantly cut its operational costs through a range of resource efficiency measures and a successful staff awareness campaign.

Diodes Zetex has reduced its carbon footprint by 53 per cent, from 30,660 tonnes to 14,418 tonnes of CO2, cut its annual water and effluent usage by 31 per cent and its annual electricity usage by 23 per cent. It diverts 100 per cent of its waste solvents for re-use by a local cement-making plant.

5 plus architects (formerly HKR Architects), with Argent Group and Bardsley Construction, won first prize for in the 'over £1 million project' Built Environment category, for The Hive development on Lever Street in the city centre.

Billed as being "not your typical office building", the Northern Quarter development has been designed as a 'post recession' building for low rental, creative occupants, with sustainability firmly in mind, and has a BREEAM 'Excellent' rating.

Meanwhile, Colin Sykes, environment and transport correspondent for BBC North West Tonight, won the Media and Communications category for consistently high quality and impactful coverage across a wide range of environmental issues, over many years.

Waterman Group was runner-up in the Built Environment category for the Phase 4 Development at Loreto Sixth Form College on Chichester Road, Manchester, in conjunction with AA Projects Ltd, Taylor Young Architects and Bardsley Construction. The historic Palace Hotel took the runner-up trophy for Combating Climate Change.

Walter Menzies, Manchester-based sustainability consultant and former chief executive of the Mersey Basin Campaign, was also awarded a surprise award of special recognition for Lifetime Achievement by guest speaker, Jonathon Porritt.

The 2010 prize-giving ceremony took place on Tuesday 19 October at The Bridgewater Hall in Manchester and was attended by 250 guests from across the region.


Posted 19 October 2010