Northwest Business Environment Awards 2010

Awards gain the RSA's official stamp of approval

The Royal Society for the encouragement of Arts, Manufactures and Commerce (RSA) has given its official stamp of approval to the Northwest Business Environment Awards, ahead of the 2010 prize-giving ceremony.

The prestigious independent accreditation means that the scheme is now recognised as a leading example of best practice amongst the UK’s growing number of environmental and sustainable development awards. It also means that the North West’s regional award winners will also now be eligible to enter the European Business Awards for the Environment.

Tickets for the annual awards ceremony next month are now selling rapidly, with up to 250 guests expected to attend the afternoon celebration at The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester, with guest speaker, Jonathon Porritt.

Todd Holden, director of ENWORKS, the environmental business support partnership which is hosting this year's awards, said: "News of the accreditation is a great boost for the scheme and gives our green heroes the chance to go on and compete for further recognition at an international level.

"The awards are now in their eighth consecutive year and with Jonathon Porritt on board this year’s ceremony promises to be the best yet. With high profile media guests attending and tickets selling fast I would encourage businesses to book their places soon to avoid missing out."

The Northwest Business Environment Awards is managed by ENWORKS with support from the Northwest Regional Development Agency (NWDA) and has attracted a record number of entrants this year across its six main award categories.

Mark Hughes, executive director of economic development at the NWDA, added: "This year, with the RSA’s accreditation and a record number of entries, the awards promise to be more prominent than ever. It is inspiring to see that businesses continue to recognise that good environmental performance can foster innovation and lead to commercial success."


Posted 27 September 2010